If You Live In This Texas City, You Must Wear A Mask In Public Or Face Up To $1,000 Fine.

Updated: Apr 8


A city in Texas is stepping it up to help stop the spread of COVID-19.


Laredo, Texas is now requiring every resident older than 5 years old to wear some sort of mask when out in public. That includes when entering or inside any building open to the public, when using public transportation, taxis, or ride shares, and even when pumping gas.


However, according to the emergency ordinance, a mask doesn't need to be worn if you're riding in a personal vehicle, if you're alone in a separate single space, or if you're engaging in permissible outside physical activity.

As far as what qualifies as a permissible mask, it can be a homemade mask, scarf, bandana, or handkerchief, as long as it covers your nose and mouth.


If people are caught in Laredo not covering their nose and mouth, they face a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $1,000.









Subscribe To The Site To Gain Access To All PREMIUM CONTENT